My 7-Eleven Run Adventure

From the successful Run 800 in 2013, suceeded by 3 more years of fun and eventful races that attracted more fitness enthusiasts, competitive and seasonal runners; another very succesful 7-Eleven Run was staged last Sunday, February 5, 2017, that invaded the Skyway and Filinvest City.

I regret to missed experiencing last year’s super fun Run 2016.  So this year, I make sure that I would not miss the fun.  Despite of enduring knee pain for the past few weeks, I decided to run the 21K category.  

Race Day 

Excited as I was, together with my blogger friend Rolly Pangilinan, we arrived early at the race venue.  The village was already open, some tents are already serving breakfast and I love the lugaw. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And off we go…

At 2am, the first wave of 21k runners was deployed.  Me, Marinelle and Rolly were at the tje last wave and were deployed at 2:30.  I ran with Marinelle doing easy pace as I’m being careful with my stride and taking care of my left injured knee.  For the first kilometer, me, Nhel and Rolly are running togrther but at the 4th kilometer I am running by myself.  Running alone makes me more keen on my pace and how’s my left knee doing.  Fortunately, the route was perfectly planned – hydration every 1.5 km with overflowing water, Pocari, Gatorade and bananas.  One big help for the runners are the marshalls situated every 2 kilometers (I think), offering liniment spray for those who need them.  Kudos to the organizer for that.  That’s a really big help to us.

At the last 6-km mark, I am feeling a little pain from my knee coming up at the side of my hips.  Luckily, I bumped into Nhel again.  I decided to do a run-walk system.  Gladly, I’m wearing my Nike Zonal Strength tight and Under Armour Charged Bandit running shoes, they really gave me proper support and comfort throughout the race.  I was already limping in the last kilometer but hey, I have to smile as there are photographers along the last 200 meters.  We crossed the finished line tired but happy.  What a well-planned race route.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

At the event village

After we crossed the finish line and got our finisher’s loot bags, I look for Rolly and met some of my friends and we rome around the village.  The village is full of happy people despite of being tired from running, especially the 24K runners.  We are the happiest runners that day.  We swam on freebies – tumblers, biscuits, juice, donuts, ice cream, etc, etc, etc!

Top finishers won cash prizes and medals for the winners,  and also the chance to join an international marathon in Asia. But the the rest of the runners, including me, are all winners.  Winner to the max sa freebies!  

I really had a blast despite of suffering ITBS.  I am so happy to see all my friends.  

Thank you so much 7-Eleven Philippines for such a wonderful race.  You made all the runners happy.  Congratulations and more power.

*you can view your race results here

*race photos here

This event is brought to you by

major sponsors

race partners

media partners

medal-logo

Leave a comment